Thursday, June 22, 2017

Shattered King (Lawless Kings #1) by Sherilee Gray



Goodreads Review




What if the man you love hated you more with every breath he took?

SHATTERED KING is an intense, ultra-sexy standalone novel set in the world of the Lawless Kings. Sherilee Gray’s raw, hard, beautiful, deeply-emotional voice will leave readers breathless.

“Shattered King is a sexy, beautiful second chance love story... a truly enjoyable read.” - Sawyer Bennett,
New York Times bestselling authorHe’s out to get revenge for a crime he didn’t commit…

Hunter King just got out of prison. Incarcerated for three years though an innocent man, his rage against the people who put him there knows no bounds. First up on his list for vengeance: the woman who betrayed him years ago. The woman he loved fiercely, the one bright light in his otherwise hard, ruthless life. She has information he needs. And he’s going to kidnap her, hold her hostage, in order to get it. But one look into Lulu’s eyes unleashes the true beast within. Hunter’s never hated anyone this deeply, or wanted any woman this badly.

Lulu had no choice: Either help send Hunter to prison, or see him destroyed. She couldn’t do that to the man she loved. Couldn’t do it to the father of her child. But Hunter was locked away before he had a chance to learn about his son—and a hard layer of despair has formed around his heart that she’s desperate to crack. And if Hunter is to give himself and Lulu a second chance at love, he needs to find a way past his darkest demons.



3.5 whiplash stars
I just finished this book and I’m all over the place. In some parts but in a good way and in others not so much.
I requested the book because of the cover and then I read the blurb. I was all for it. I mean peeps look at that cover it is worth a mention.
I also never ever thought that I would say this but there was far too much sex in the book. I felt exhausted and drained because they never got to the point where they needed to talk about shite, they’d just screw each other’s brains out. The sex outweighed the emotional bond that I wanted to see with them. We’d go one step forward and then three steps back.
There is a high amount of angst in the book which I enjoyed but there was also a lot of unnecessary drama in my opinion. But in saying that I also enjoyed the pace of the book. I’m contradicting myself here in so many ways.
Let’s talk about the main characters in the book.
Hunter King grew up in a home filled with abuse. He came out of it stronger. He met Lulu and wanted to change his life around until a choice was made that he didn’t understand at the time. Three years later his demons are still keeping him chained.
While on a job his past catches up with him and blinded by anger he takes things to our heroine too far. IMO.
Lulu lied to save Hunter and ran to save her unborn child. It was the right thing to do although it cut them both deep. She is back in New York as her mother is dying. Her past with her stepfather is truly appalling and I have no words to convey the sickness I felt when it came to that particular part of the book.
They say there is a fine line between love and hate and I agree but the way Hunter treated Lulu was despicable. Their bodies wanted one another but their minds didn’t. It didn’t always feel consensual. This is just MY OPINION. When the truth comes out Hunter does a 180 so yeah bipolar. I’m not trying to ridicule bipolar people here. K? Although he made up for a lot of things I just couldn’t have gotten over it.
Lulu should have told him everything sooner, the trickle of information that came was always a little too late. She isn’t to blame for what Hunter did to her but it all could have stopped if she’d said something sooner. No matter if they all hadn’t believed her. Maybe she felt as if she deserved it.
All in all, I enjoyed the book, the author does an excellent job of captivating you. It is gritty, raw and hard to take in places. Her writing style is good. A solid start to the series and I will read the next one.
There are strong themes in this book that contains violence, abuse and attempted rape. It won’t be for everyone.




Wednesday, June 21, 2017

Hearts on Air (Hearts #6) by L.H. Cosway


Goodreads Review



3 weeks. 5 cities. 15 impossible stunts. One reality show.

Trevor Cross came into Reya Cabrera’s world with a bang and faded out with a whimper. They vowed to make it work, but life had other plans. After chasing his TV dreams for years, Trev finally became the UK’s next big reality star, but he alienated his family and friends in the process. Now he finally has everything he ever wanted. Women. Money. Fame. But none of it means anything when he doesn’t have the one thing that matters most: love.

Money leaves a gaping hole. Fame surrounds him with loneliness. And no woman makes him feel like Reya used to before the whirlwind of success pulled them apart.

He has a plan to get her back. However, with a hectic filming schedule looming, the only way to do that is to convince her to come on the road with him. Reya has been stuck in a rut for a while, and the opportunity to travel across Europe and play her music for new audiences seems like heaven. The only catch? She has to do it with the one boy who ever got close enough to break her heart. But he’s not a boy anymore, and as she gets to know him again she can’t deny her respect for the man he’s become.

Every time she’s around him her heart feels full of air, like a balloon about to pop. Little does she know, Trev’s feelings are just as tumultuous as hers. One thing’s for sure, these three weeks on the road together will either make them whole again or break them irrevocably.


**Hearts on Air is a contemporary romance and book #6 in the Hearts series, however it can also be read as a complete standalone.**
 



BLOWN. AWAY.

If the air is a street.
Then the clouds are a path.
And your feet so easily close the distance.

Reya and Trevor have a complex relationship. With such subtle nuances that it is hard to pull it all apart at once. A book to be read more than once to fully understand how they are feeling. I was torn between reconciling between what happened in the past and to what happened in the present with our two star crossed birds.

A battle between head and heart. I felt Reya's struggle every step of the way. Although blown away I personally didn't need to have read That One Night in parts it ruined the book for me. I also didn't particularly need to see flash backs to the past. On the one hand, it added to the story of the book but it also tore me away from how their friendship/relationship developed in the now.

How this book touched every part of me. With so many feels involved Ms. Cosway manages to tickle all the unwanted and wanted emotions out of me. I was fascinated by these two right from the beginning. They have a unique friendship where they fought for a very long time against crossing that line.

This book won't work for everyone. A lot of readers have a problem with Trevor throughout the other books. It is hard to get a read on him. He did string Reya on for a long time and Reya tried to come to terms with it. But by the time Trevor showed interest it was all torn apart. He gave up Reya for fame and fortune. I actually get Trev’s reasons behind where he tried to keep his distance but the road to hell is paved with good intentions but however noble is intentions were meant to be they ruined a lot for both of them. Trev is strange, unpredictable, beautiful flawed man.


Reya had stability she needed until that one night where everything changed. She lost everything. Trevor didn't have the best upbringing but the Cross family is spectacular to watch together. Whereas Reya had no family to turn to.

Astranged yet they get reacquainted with Reya accompanying them on shooting through Europe as one of their PAs although she really didn't do a lot. It's time to make amends. Trev goes above and beyond. If somebody makes it so that I can get away with wearing slippers outdoors I'm all for that shit. Believe me Reya so am I.

L.H Cosway is one of my favourite authors. Flawless writing with characters where you'd think it wouldn't work but it does. I can’t wait to read more of her awesomeness. I loved that the books are based in London. I love all her characters and we saw all the characters from previous books here. It was good to catch up you know. But the best thing?

New series, happy days peeps.

Off the Air - Callum and Leanne
Floating on Air – Paul
Castles in the Air – James
Airs and Graces – Isaac





Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Gone to Dust (Gravediggers #2) by Liliana Hart


Goodreads Review



The Gravediggers aren’t exactly what they seem. They’re the most elite of the world’s fighting forces—and all they have in common is that they’ve been betrayed by the countries they’ve died for. Because they are dead. To their country, their military, and their families.
Sometimes the dead do rise....

Miller Darling is one of the most popular romance novelists of her time. Not bad for a woman who doesn’t believe in romance. She’s as logical as they come, and she doesn’t believe in happily-ever-afters. What she does believe in is family, so when her brother disappears, she doesn’t think twice about packing her bag and her laptop and heading out to find him.

Elias Cole lived and breathed the life of a Navy SEAL. Now he’s “dead” and his hero’s honor tarnished. The only thing keeping him sane are the men who are like him—The Gravediggers—and the woman who makes his head spin. He’s never met anyone like Miller Darling. Her smart mouth and quick wit keep him on his toes, and damned if he doesn’t find that appealing.

When Miller receives a package from the brother who abandoned her asking for help, it’s clear she’s in over her head with the mess he’s gotten himself into. She needs a professional, and Elias is just the man for the job. Only her brother is a former SEAL—the man who left his team to die—and Elias is more interested in vengeance than saving his life.



This is more my kind of book much better than book 1.I enjoyed this book a lot. Strong plot with some mystery in it and really strong characters.

Miller Darling romance author. She is Tess's best friend (book one) and in Last Stop she is the town eccentric. She lives life the way she wants to and also lives more in her own world and the world that she writes in then anything else.

I liked Miller but at times she whined when there was no reason to whine. There were some life and death situations and she started rambling about random shite and that she wanted her laptop. Woman you are on the run how do you think that you are going to write one word let alone finish your book. But she dealt well with the hand that she was given and is a solid heroine in my book.

Elias is a Gravedigger, he died only to be reborn again. It was never planned to what happened to him but some choices are taken out of our hands. He was setup and branded a traitor all thanks to Eve just to get him on the team. As a Navy SEAL he is the best of the best.

He wants revenge so although the chemistry is off the charts between our two MC his plan is to get rid of Eve Winter. His main and top priority. He tries to walk away from Miller as he doesn’t want to have the added complication of a relationship.

Miller gets into a spot of bother thanks to her brother Justin who has taken on the family legacy. Finding King Solomon's treasure there is only one small problem. It's in cartel territory and you don't mess with the Black Widow and Emilio. Justin although also a Navy SEAL decides to do just that. He is fanatical about his quest for the treasure.

The banter in this book is stronger than in the previous one. I think that due to the characters being different I preferred the vibe that was given off here. A very long time ago when I was younger I watched Romancing the Stone, that film from 1985 with Kathleen Turner and Michael Douglas. It had some strong vibes in relation to that. I loved that film.

Ms. Hart has a unique writing style which I don’t always get on with but that is just me. When she lays off the descriptive writing and get more dialogue than I am all for it. Book 3 is out soon and I’m not convinced with the combi of who Dante will be up against. It could be interesting but execution here is the key.







Thursday, June 15, 2017

Take a Chance (Vegas Heat #2) by Erika Wilde


Goodreads Review


The son of a con-artist, Sean O'Brien learned the hard way that living by your own rules comes with a price. After a brief time behind bars, Sean is now ready to live an honest life, and pay for his past mistakes, and he's fortunate enough that a member of The Reliance Group sees Sean's potential for good and gives him a job at the Onyx Casino.

Zoe Russo has met all types of men on the Vegas strip. But when Sean pays a visit to her boutique, she's certain her luck has changed for the better. They share an immediate, irresistible attraction, and for the first time in her life she's found a man she thinks she can trust. But when Zoe stumbles onto the truth about Sean and his reasons for pursuing her, she can't help but question everything they'd shared. Are his feelings for her real, or has she been a fool once again? Until now, nothing has prepared her for the thrill and risk of taking a chance on love.



I am in the minority here so take my review with a pinch of salt. Alas a 3 star read.

The road to hell is paved with good intentions.

Whereas I enjoy Ms. Wilde’s writing and the overall plot here was really good. I didn’t like any of the main characters in the book.

In no way whatsoever did Sean O’Brien come over as sincere IMO. Although he apologised for his mess-ups and he meant well it all felt kind of flat for me. Really flat.

Zoe Russo is a designer. Also not a fan of things I find appealing in a female lead do not ask me why, different strokes and all that jazz. And the connection they had? Wasn’t feeling that either. Too many lies where in the way at the beginning. I also didn’t feel as if they meshed well together.

To the plot it is good with the right amount of suspense although at times I also felt that we were treading water. The end was unexpected with that turn of events. So that is new one for me.

What I also didn’t like which irritated me was the interaction with another couple in the book that being the famous musician Jessica Morgan and Noah, childhood sweethearts they would have been better off getting a novella. Once again just my opinion. It took away from the overall plot between Zoe and Sean.

Definitely worth a read so don’t base you wanting to read it on my review. 




Saturday, June 10, 2017

Sugar & Gold (Dreamcatcher #2) by Emma Scott



Goodreads Review



Nikolai Alexei Young was born with a special gift…one he’d do anything to lose. The heart and soul of every person he comes into contact with is an open book to his heightened senses. Colorful emotions, whispers of thoughts, the sour tastes of old memories…He feels them all. The sci-fi books would call him an empath. For Nikolai, his ability has made him an exile. He roams the U.S. alone, avoiding the glut of life in big cities, and using his innate talents to win money in underground poker games. Just enough to keep going, one town to the next. He has no hope that his life can be anything else, until he meets her…

At nineteen, Fiona Starling was trapped in an ugly, desperate situation until she freed herself the only way she knew how. Now three years later, living outside Savannah, Georgia, she is rebuilding her life on her own terms; seizing every moment and saving every penny so that she might fulfill her dream of moving to the raw wilderness of Costa Rica. But behind her carefree smile beats the heart of a lonely young woman haunted by her past, until a chance encounter with a tattooed stranger changes everything…

Fiona takes Nikolai under her roof for three sultry nights, waiting out the rain of a summer storm. She grows more and more fascinated by this brooding stranger with whom she shares an intense physical connection—a connection so strong, she wonders if there is something between them beyond lust and passion. Nikolai is shocked to discover that Fiona calms the raging turmoil in his heart. She alone silences the din of other people’s lives, and envelops him in the sweet beauty of her inner self. Every moment he’s with her—every touch of her skin—brings him closer to the peace that’s been eluding him his entire life.

But Fiona harbors secrets that she is too terrified to reveal. After Nikolai confesses his unique ability, she is caught between wanting to believe him and fearing he’ll eventually unearth her own dark past. When the unthinkable happens, Fiona’s plans come crashing down, and Nikolai discovers his hated ability might be the only thing that can save the woman he loves.




Nikolai walks through life with the attitude that we are all pawns and that life is a hoax and maybe it is or maybe it isn’t it really depends where one looks and for sure Nik has been looking in the wrong places. It’s not to be found in a cellar or a shed.  But at Club 91 where he finds pink kindness and compassion. He feels peace an unknown feeling. A want to keep it is so strong.

Fiona Starling is pure light, she has an innocence about her that no one can take away from her and she has fought so damn hard for it. No rules. Live out Loud. Find the sunshine.  She finds a whole lot more but there are choices that need to be made, which road to take and if a detour is worth it in the end.

The characters emotions come off the pages, be it the hopelessness of wanting something but thinking that one is undeserving of adapting of making the choice for yourself.

Wistful at times you feel the loneliness of the our characters and that fate intervened and gave one another each other in the most heart breaking yet equally soul lifting way. If there is one thing that can be the most rewarding and yet the most destroying in the world it is love. There is one love that tops all and that is unconditional love.

This started with a prologue which already set a tone for the book where you knew that this was going to be unique yet you were going to walk away with scars no matter how much you don’t. With each part of the book we all somehow have the devil inside us, the Doe should be saved by the Black Prince cause if not then where is the magic?

When you start a book by Ms. Scott it’s like a box of chocolates cause you never know what you are going to get. Sugar and Gold is the same. It took a lot out of me but it also gave me a lot but that is something I will be telling the author. It doesn’t belong here.

We have a story so complex and intricate that there is not one thing that I can see that specifically stood out to me but here it is the overall package, the book. In no way will my review ever do the book justice. Gosh there is so much I would love to say but somehow the words just don’t seem to come. They are there in my heart but they won’t compute to my brain let alone trying to get them from my brain down to my hands to type it.

So many shades, so many emotions, so many colours but only two count the most here pink and gold. Throughout the book I was beaten black and blue metaphorically speaking of course. My soul took a beating and I was slayed by the beauty of the story. The unfairness of life, yet the true depth that is shown when it comes to love and to hope.

Without a shadow of a doubt but this is a book that one must read with a slight touch of the mystic it is worth the 5 stars but different strokes and all that but take a chance. As I said box of chocolates peeps.




Thursday, June 8, 2017

Game of Chance (Vegas Heat Novel Book 1) by Erika Wilde


Goodreads Review




A former Marine and Las Vegas vice cop, Nathan Fox has seen it all and then some. Heading up security for the Onyx Casino is tame compared to his dark past, but it's not his only job. Working for the Reliance Group is his real passion project. His current case: a missing woman. His mission: to find her. Easy enough, until he finds himself tangled up with sexy Nicole Hutton, a stubborn—and stunning—journalist who's nosed her way into his investigation . . . and into his dirty, erotic fantasies.

Resisting Nicole is impossible, and he soon discovers that in this dangerous high stakes game of chance, falling in love is the greatest risk of all.





I took a chance on this author I’d never heard of her until now and well Ms. Wilde is awesomesauce when it comes to this book. I had some difficulties throughout the book but overall I can say that I loved it and the 5 stars are worth it.


Nathan Fox, OMG. I swooned when I heard that name. Nathan works surveillance for The Onyx Casino but he also does some side work for The Reliance Group that belongs to the owner of the Casino. Former vice of Vegas he had a case that went wrong and got out of the Metro.


But the time has come to face what happened in the past because a case has just got personal. His mission?


Infiltrate the world of Preston Sloane, fifty-four years old he likes his girls young. The underbelly of Vegas is not all glitz and glam as you would expect and Ms. Wilde shows that and brings us that and some sick individuals. Find Angela Ramsey and bring her home.


Before he takes the case he does his co-worker Valerie and goes to a speed dating night.


Nicole Hutton a journalist for The Las Vegas Commentary has been living off fluff pieces thus being the speed dating gig being one of them. I liked Nicole until she did something she shouldn’t have but I guess that is the journalist in her. Either you are a bloodhound or you aren’t.


At the speed dating event Nathan and Nicole hit it off but aren’t looking for anything serious. They spend a hot and steamy night together. They have pure unadulterated desire.


Nicole sneaks out the next morning only to nab Nathan’s file and be on the case but from a different angle.


Without any real options they work together and they get closer on all levels. I loved them together but when it came to Nicole there was one thing that bothered me, maybe it seems odd is, is speed dating still a thing? The last time I heard it crop up was about 8 years ago. Mind due I am married and out of the dating game so what the heck do I know right?


But what would this fantastic story be without a love interest. Only half as suspenseful, sensual and interesting. Ms. Wilde sure does know how to get the reader all hot and bothered. Tingles, tingles everywhere. I was hooked right from the beginning. But I had difficulty with this heroine. I like strong female characters but I don't like when they are so very in your face with her sexuality but after fully understanding her reasons and her past. I. GOT. OVER. IT.


I can't wait for the other 2 books to come out.

Tuesday, June 6, 2017

Only With Me by Kelly Elliott



Goodreads Review




Life was great.

I loved my bachelor life and working my dream job with the Colorado Springs SWAT team.

That all changed the day I stepped into her bakery. Her smile swept me off my feet, and her panna cotta was heaven.

Cue my very traditional Greek family.

Then all hell broke loose.

The woman I was falling in love with was Italian, and my mother was hell-bent on proving to the world she was the better cook.

If my meddling family wasn’t bad enough, for the last six years Gabi had been on the run from a past she tried desperately to escape from.

Between a beautiful woman on the run, and a crazy family constantly in my business, would I be able to show her I’m the only one who can keep her safe … or will her past steal her away from me?






Spoiler Free


4 Big Fat Greek crazy arsed family Stars.


For my next read I needed something uplifting, entertaining, and on the funny side. Only with Me covers all those points and more.


Nic is a happy bachelor has his dream job being a SWAT Team member. Enjoys his lifestyle until he goes to a cute Italian bakery and is thunderstruck. For all of Nic's man whoring ways I liked him. I liked him a lot. He oozes charm but not in a smarmy way. He is possessive when it comes to Gabi.


Gabi has decided to settle down after being years on the run she has made Colorado Springs her home. She has a bakery with her roommate Charity. By the way some of the stuff she came out with was absolutely hilarious. All is going well until Nic walks into Gabi’s bakery. It reminded me of the Thunderbolt from The Godfather where it struck them and they couldn’t do anything to stop it. She wants to stick to the plan but the lies are becoming unbearable.


Nic is smitten and Nic has never been smitten.


The moment you meet her, Nic, you’ll know. Your breath will catch, your chest tightens like a vice clamped on it, but it’s a feeling you so good you want it to last forever.


You know what they say about Greek men. No? Let me tell you.



They are sex gods. Sex. Gods. Alpha’s in and out of bed. Slightly possessive of their women, which is hot as hell. And they can’t keep their hands off their women. Always feeling them up.


I love reading books about families and siblings. To date the boisterous Irish families are my favorites but the Greeks are coming in as a close second. Especially Greek men


I found Only with Me to be captivating and magnetizing. A delectable, funny read with awesome characters and a story that worked really well.  

My, my, my, KE sure can write some filthy, dirty mind blowing sex scenes. But equally brilliant is the romance and sweet moments they have together. Let's not forget the Greek nosey as hell family. And the banter in the family. 

I read a book by this author a very long time ago. It was a mix between YA/NA but this book? Worked on all levels for me. KE captivated me with her writing style her attention to get that happily ever after in with all the bells and whistles. 

Unfortunately, there is one part in the book where I'd wished that it had been different. Gabi has a past, a past she has to lie about to protect herself and her family but in this instance, she should have just been honest and should have told him. Instead he thinks that she has a lover in Italy I would like to add. He wasn't thinking straight on that one. Follows her to Italy sees something which is misinterpreted does a runner and then out of spite says he's seeing a former fuck buddy might I add this is on the phone.


With honesty and communication, the MC would have been spared both the grief and agony they put one another through. Thanks to friends who have their heads screwed on right.


My verdict if you are looking for some angst, fantastic banter and an unexpected plot and crazy arse family. With all the Maria’s, the cook offs, Greek vs. Italian than this book is for you. It gets my vote.







The Darkest Corner (Gravediggers #1) by Lilian Hart



Goodreads Review



The Gravediggers aren’t exactly what they seem. They’re the most elite of the world’s fighting forces—and all they have in common is that they’ve been betrayed by the countries they’ve died for. Because they are dead. To their country, their military, and their families.Sometimes the dead do rise...

Deacon Tucker is a dead man walking. A former black ops agent, he was disavowed and stripped of all honor before being recruited as a Gravedigger. But his honor and good name no longer matter, because no one knows he’s alive, and he’ll never get the recognition he deserves. His mission is simple: save the world or die trying. And for God’s sake, don’t ever fall in love. That’s a rule punishable by death. The kind of death a man can’t be brought back from.

Tess Sherman is the only mortician in Last Stop, Texas. She has no idea how Deacon Tucker ended up in her funeral home, but she’ll eat her hat if he’s
only a funeral home assistant. Deacon is dangerous, deadly, and gorgeous. And she knows her attraction to him can only end in heartache.

Deacon is on a mission to stop the most fatal terror attack the world has ever known—what’s known as The Day of Destiny—a terrorist’s dream. But when he discovers Tess has skills he can use to stop them, he has to decide if he can trust her with secrets worth dying for. And, most important, he has to decide if he can trust her with his heart.




I am one confused individual when it comes to The Darkest Corner.

The beginning was extremely tough going and there were times that I didn't want to continue. But this book grew on me. Which is quite surprising in itself.

The Gravediggers are those who fight terrorism on home soil. Their cover? A funeral home in Last Stop, Texas.

Tess is a native Last Stopian. She lives in a quirky town with quirky characters. The overall plot was good but quite tiresome in places and felt that it wasn’t really in-depth for me. The main focus is on the characters and the plot seemed glossed over. I was sure if the author was aiming more for romance than for the suspense. I find it hard to decide. But probably the former.

Deacon was betrayed by his country because his moral compass kicked in for one of his missions. He died only to be reborn again. To become a Gravedigger for a ghost organization. Approached by one Eve Winter. Eve Winter deserves a bullet and quite frankly I don't care where as long as she is gone.  But hey not my choice.

They have had chemistry from the start but they never acted on it. But the time has come. Although there are dangers with entanglements when you are one step from death’s door.


Tess liked to taunt and be sassy. Deacon. Funny in parts and it did pick up. There are parts I liked and parts I didn't. Overall I enjoyed this read. It's different to what I usually read.

Ms. Hart's writing style is solid although her tendency to go on for pages of world building and inner monologue was tiring so going to be honest hear I skimmed in parts.

The prologue is completely unnecessary IMO. What happened to the little girl? Might be trivial for some but not for me.

I am intrigued enough by the series to see how it continues.