Sunday, May 7, 2017

The Handy Men by Jamie K. Schmidt




Jack and Dean love each other, but they’re missing the woman to complete their triangle. When newly divorced Paige Richards buys a Bed and Breakfast on Hamlet Island and employs them to help her fix the inn up, Jack and Dean are sure they’ve found the one they’ve been looking for. Despite the playful, sexy clues they drop, luscious Paige is reticent about getting involved, even when they set the stage so she can stumble on them in action. They can tell by her responses she wants to join them, but rumors travel fast on the small island, and tales of a threesome could get back to the conservative, family vacation crowd who won’t patronize those with an alternative lifestyle. And the last thing they want for Paige is the B&B’s rooms…and her bank account…to remain empty. But Jack and Dean will stop at nothing to prove to Paige that she can have it all…with them. 




We’ll treat her like a queen. F$ck like porn stars. And love her like she was our wife.

I always wanted to read a ménage with MMF altogether. This pushed me out of my comfort zone to begin with but I then began to love it. This is an unconventional love between three people. Monopoly has never been so hot.

Dean and Jack you can’t help but become a voyeur. And also want to participate. They are hot and sweet together and downright filthy. Add Paige in and well. Keep your fan ready.  

I thought that there wouldn’t be enough substance but I’m glad to have been proven wrong.

Paige wants to start over so she moves out to Hamlet Island to open up the bed & breakfast The Nutmeg Inn. Lonely after finding out that her husband cheated on her with Barbie she is starved for affection.

Jack and Dean are in a relationship they had a third but indifferences arose and she left. Jack and Dean are helping Paige get the bed and breakfast hence the handy men.  They want Paige and they are doing anything they can. Paige catches them in several acts and her fantasies start to run wild. But how will it work? They are a couple they love one another. But with the rumour mill of the island her livelihood is on the line.

The topic comes up that Jack can keep Stephanie and Dean Paige. Okay I guess they have to talk about it but for me it is a no brainer to be honest. They beg her to fight for them and then they tell her to take a break. Good on you Paige for putting a stop to it completely. The ending was somewhat anti-climactic. IMO.

There is o/w drama as an ex comes back and there is a surprise. That spoilt it for me. A lot.

I would have liked to have seen an epilogue to see how it continued a HFN just wasn’t enough for me. My first book by this author and although she has written an engaging, delectable read with fantastic characters with a balance of ménage that works between all three I’d need to think real hard about reading another book by this author.



Friday, May 5, 2017

Arranged (Masters and Mercenaries #13.5) by Lexi Blake


Goodreads Review


Kash Kamdar is the king of a peaceful but powerful island nation. As Loa Mali’s sovereign, he is always in control, the final authority. Until his mother uses an ancient law to force her son into marriage. His prospective queen is a buttoned-up intellectual, nothing like Kash’s usual party girl. Still, from the moment of their forced engagement, he can’t stop thinking about her.

Dayita Samar comes from one of Loa Mali’s most respected families. The Cambridge-educated scientist has dedicated her life to her country’s future. But under her staid and calm exterior, Day hides a few sexy secrets of her own. She is willing to marry her king, but also agrees that they can circumvent the law. Just because they’re married doesn’t mean they have to change their lives. It certainly doesn’t mean they have to fall in love.

After one wild weekend in Dallas, Kash discovers his bride-to-be is more than she seems. Engulfed in a changing world, Kash finds exciting new possibilities for himself. Could Day help him find respite from the crushing responsibility he’s carried all his life? This fairy tale could have a happy ending, if only they can escape Kash’s past…



Arranged made for an interesting read.
15 years ago Kash nearly fell in love but the spare then became the heir and is life changed. Fate intervened well actually it was his father but she tried to make it better by arranging a marriage between Dayita and Kash.
Kash, king of his country has been ignoring his responsibilities as king but that is all about to change.
I wasn’t really interested in Kash when I met him in previous books. Yes, he is a manwhore not that it bothered me. I just felt that he was always on the sidelines so much that I’m surprised he even got a book.
I do like the arranged marriage theme so maybe that is why I also requested it.
Dayita clever, strong-willed and a big heart. I really like her as a female lead. She is regal and a true queen in every sense of the word.
This is my first book where there was a role reversal in the D/s and surprisingly enough I really enjoyed it I didn’t think I would if I’m going to be honest.  The feelings that they have and the difficulties that they had to overcome made it all the more interesting.
Things got tricky when Day’s preferences were aired and the way they reacted or more the way Kash reacted. I actually understand him where he tries to adjust to his new role without feeling less of a man. But I mean come on what is good for the goose should also be good for the gander.
Lexi Blake delivers an exciting read with fabulous and unique characters and spice to every story that she writes. She knows how to balance out all elements to make a book suck you in right from the start. Royal family themed books aren’t really my thing but I did enjoy this book. I love when we get to see Ian and the rest of the crew but even that didn’t want me to give it more than 3 stars.




Tuesday, May 2, 2017

Bronx's Wounded Wolf (Mystic Wolves #4) by Elle Boon



Goodreads Review




A WOUNDED WOLF…A FIERCE PROTECTOR…AN UNSHAKABLE BOND…Will Bronx and Taya be able to create that mystical bond without her inner wolf, or will their love be enough?

A WOUNDED WOLF… Having suffered at the hands of a rogue pack, Taya’s wolf retreat’s deep inside her. She learns to rely on her humanity as she seeks sanctuary from the pack she’d been taken from as a child.

A FIERCE PROTECTOR…Bronx feels an instant connection to Taya the moment he set eyes on her, even though he couldn’t sense her wolf. Her pain and wariness stop him from claiming her right then and there, keeping him and his wolf on edge.

AN UNSHAKEABLE BOND…Neither Taya nor Bronx can deny their feelings for one another, and as the weeks go by, they both give into their desires. Bronx’s wolf is ready to claim Taya, wolf or not. Taya misses her wolf, but when her past catches up to them, she’ll need more than her humanity and Bronx to save her. They’ll need the strength of the pack and help from the Fey if they hope to come out of the battle alive and whole.



2 Blue & Wolfman Stars.

Well, aren’t I the odd duck out here?

Taya Blade kidnapped and tortured has lost her wolf. She is rescued and meets her mate she isn’t broken but she mourns the loss of her wolf. 

Bronx Ducane is a fantastic Hero. He fought for Taya every step of the way. He never let her down. He is strong, sweet and one hell of a wolf.

I felt that the connection between the two could be have been deeper. I did find it amusing in places.

I am an avid paranormal reader. An avid reader in general and what I really wanted to do here is love this book. The beginning was solid for me but then it just started going downhill. But I felt as if the plot of her losing her wolf was hashed to death it cropped up one to many times. IMO.

Ms. Boon knows how to write paranormal and a world filled with unique shifters and an interesting plot. Whereas I was interested in the plot it didn’t suck me in. Whereas I enjoyed the characters I was also a bit disappointed.

My mistake is that this is book 4 and that there are so many characters from other books that I got confused at times. This can be read as a standalone although I struggled so maybe go and read the other books beforehand. I felt that I was missing out on a lot of stuff and I found the characters from previous books interesting but still confused.

The ending was somewhat rushed for me. This is a quick and easy read with a fun side yet with characters who have to overcome great obstacles.

The author has created a world of possibilities for the future. Talented yet an author not for me.


Friday, April 28, 2017

The Bohemian and the Businessman (Blueberry Lane 4 - The Story Sisters #1)



Goodreads Review



Priscilla Story, the self-proclaimed “wild child” of the straight-laced Story clan, has always had a knack for getting herself trouble. Except this time, her “growing problem” is going to require a Daddy sooner than later…or she can kiss her inheritance good-bye.

Shane Olson, who previously dated Priscilla’s sister, Margaret, isn’t opposed to a marriage of convenience for the sake of furthering his business interests, but Priscilla – with her wild ways – is just about the last woman he’d choose to marry.

In order to make the marriage look convincing, they end up having to spend more time together than they’d originally planned. When rolling stone, Priscilla, who lives by the seat of her muu-muu, and seriously-ambitious Shane, who’s had his whole life planned since he was eleven, start falling for each other, it’s going to take a whole lot of compromise for this Bohemian and her Businessman to find their happily ever after.





I want to live on Blueberry Lane with all of these wonderful characters. I don’t care if they are fictional. I just do. To date this is one of my favourite series in the contemporary romance genre. It has everything I need and want in book. A balance of angst, sweetness, adorable misunderstandings, with chemistry that can’t be denied.  
The old adage that opposites do attract couldn’t be any truer when it comes to The Bohemian and the Businessman.
Priscilla Story is in a spot of bother. The wild child, the black sheep of the family has truly got herself up the creek without one single paddle in sight. Coming from one of the prominent families in Philadelphia living a life of luxury. Having anything she wanted but not the one thing she truly wanted. Love. Her only real tie to the family, her sister Margaret.
Relying too much on her Trust to come through for her. Flitting from one thing to another. A rolling stone. But this rolling stone needs to change her ways as she managed to get herself knocked up. She needs a solution pronto. Something blond with blue eyes of calm comes her way.
Shane Olsen. Adorable the last gentleman left on this earth works for Story Imports and wants into upper management. There is a condition by the god awful Douglas Story none of his daughters will ever be in that position so he needs a son in law. Shane has always wanted to belong to the upper crust coming from a farm in Wisconsin he wants to be more. Where he is so sacrificing and asks Margaret to date him so that he can achieve the plan he set when watching Wall Street at the age of ten. A business marriage is the way to go.
Let’s just say that nothing goes to plan and well he strikes with the quick solution that Priscilla suggests. Since P interned with her father she has liked to tease Shane. Gosh how I love them together. They each complement one another. They seem like an unlikely couple but that is exactly why I felt that it worked really well. One too serious and the other somewhat flighty.
They were never meant to fall in love but some things just can’t be helped and they have that electricity that spark. There were two instances where they truly said some awful things to one another but they were all true and an eye opener and they re-evaluate.
This is Katy at her best. The Katy I love and know. The one author that writes magic. She makes this old cynic believe in the happily ever afters of the world. That love will always prevail and that everything is beautiful and right and that we all deserve to be accepted for who we are to be loved for who we are and well to just be. I sound pretty sappy right now but I don’t care. 
I read it in one sitting and I love when I get to read a book like this and an ARC as well. I am just all slap happy today.
And the best of it all a male virgin. It’s like finding a frigging unicorn. Precious. I have to also say that I thought that it might be weird because P is knocked up and all but it ran smooth just the way I expected from Katy. Shane took on the role as father like a duck to frigging water. Unicorn!!!!

Oh and there wasn't a "real" relationship between him and Margaret. Helped big time.




Thursday, April 20, 2017

Tempting Justice (Sons of Sydney #2) by Fiona Archer


Goodreads Review



He’s sworn to uphold the law

His reckless behavior as a child caused the deaths of his entire family. On the lonely Sydney streets, the orphan found friends. Found “brothers.” Never again will Seattle Homicide Detective Heath Justice break the rules and risk his new family. Order and discipline govern his life…until he meets a curvaceous redhead. With two ugly murder cases to solve, the last thing he needs is this disconcertingly lovely, whirlwind of chaos, yet…charmed by her wit and intelligence, Heath can’t resist.

She believes rules are meant to be broken

Deep into writing a murder mystery, author London Shaw is shocked when she herself is implicated in a homicide. She can’t believe the ever-so-authoritarian Detective Heath Justice expects her to simply ignore the crime and go on about her business. Not happening. Although the man’s whiskey rough voice, cuffs, and masterful touch could melt any woman’s resistance—and does—she has a craving to do a little investigating herself.

When all or nothing is your only play

When Heath’s murder investigation threatens a far-reaching conspiracy, everyone he cares for becomes their target—including the woman he’s come to love.
  



After trying to find an Australian slang phrase to express my emotions on this book I've decided to go back to me good old English slang and say that this book is the dog's bollocks. I would post a drawing don't think that it would go down well though.

So, this is the dog's bollocks as I mentioned. I. Loved. This. Book. So. Much. It is an absolute riot and a must read for 2017 - well IMO and let's face it, it's the only one that counts. Lol.

Heath Justice is a sex on a stick, a walking orgasm, ladies your knickers will drop without you wanting them to. Detective with the Seattle PD. An alpha to the core with vulnerability to give him a softer edge. A born protector always there for family and friends. He wants a family of his own.

London Shaw, YA author comes from a big family. Sweet, sassy full of mischief and mayhem. A fantastic heroine. You have got to meet London's Gran she is something else.  Read and find out for yourself.

Heath & London's first encounter had me in stitches.

“When I said nothing illegal, I mean it depends on your point of view.” “My point of view is as a cop, which doesn’t leave a lot of leeway on a range of subjects.” She frowned at him, as if he was being unreasonable. “That’s a rather rigid stance. Not everything is black and white.” Heath wasn’t prepared to debate the point. “Your disappointment is noted. Now-“

Heath is a take no bullshit kind of guy and he goes after what he wants and that is London. Ladies & gentlemen (have to cover all of my bases here) they are good together.
London is doing her best to go with the force that is Heath but there is still too much shock and awe going on.
London is a creature of chaos and Heath is Mr. Rules and Regulations makes for an interesting, hilarious combination.

I liked that there wasn't a big deal made about Heath being interested in Derek and Aidan's sister it is touched upon briefly and then we move on. Thank God the author did play that card that would have sucked major balls.

When reading the chemistry between London and Heath get your fan ready ladies you will need it. There is some kink. There are steaming, scorching, intense and hot scenes as well as sweet and tender moments.

The plot is action packed with a couple of murders thrown in which kept me guessing to the very end. The unpredictability of the book made it even better. I was on the edge of my seat. I was sure that it couldn't be pulled off but it worked.

In my review for book 1 I wrote about not getting on board with the whole idea of the boys banding together and then being a adopted. I tend to be a cynic but I have changed my mind this totally worked here and an improvement to book one. Once again just my opinion.

I also wrote that I didn't like Adam but I've changed my mind on that as well.  God I really want his book. Dark, broody ex black ops. Nuff said really.

There are so much opportunities now Ms. Archer can go and write about the Shaw Brothers. Oh and don’t let me forget the delectable Declan Bishop. Pretty please Ms. Archer?

All in all you all remember that author who did kick arse heroines and alpha Heroes although long descriptive writing well this is along those lines that not long arse descriptions that makes everything drag out unnecessarily. So as I wrote a must read IMO.

No o/w drama.

I'm also glad that the author took her time with this book. The release date had been pushed back twice but that made it worth it in the end.




Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Low Blow Low Blow (Shots On Goal Standalone Series Book 4) by Kristen Hope Mazzola






**Low Blow is the fourth book in the Shots On Goal series and can be read as a STANDALONE.**
One injury - a freaking broken rib.
That's all it took to send life into a tailspin at the age of sixteen. After getting a heart transplant, I knew that I could never take life or my talents for granted - I was going to be the best of the best. Boxing consumed my life and I was on track for greatness.
Everything was perfect until I woke up one morning, ten years after my surgery with an overwhelming need to meet her - the girl whose father's heart beat in my chest.
Little did I know that she was going to save me all over again.


Warning I’m most likely overreacting to some things here or being overdramatic.

Life should never be taken for granted.

This is an easy book to read. It's fast paced sometimes too fast paced it is like the author tried to fit everything in a short time span.

Alternating between the past and the present at the beginning we see how Griffin got his second chance at life. After ten years and realising he feels as if something is missing. He's kept the newspaper article and finally decides to look Olive up.

A whirlwind of a romance takes place there is instant attraction and they can’t live without one another.

There were also very touching moments. Some were bittersweet, not to take life for granted. For everything I’ve mentioned above I still enjoyed it and although the author and I aren’t a match made in heaven she is a diamond in the rough.

I love books when there is a certain twist to them and this felt right up my alley. I liked Low Blow well at least more than Cross Checked but that isn't hard IMO.

This is where got tricky for me. Where her best friend Shaw put an image in my head of that if he has her Dad’s heart and well then is it incest? And that just really icked me out peeps. Probably being an odd bug here.

Some questions I had when reading the book.

Can a professional athlete have had a heart transplant? So I admit I was so intrigued that I did some research and yes it is possible. I don’t know why I doubted it but it just kept on niggling at me. And well I should drop it because you know fiction.

Didn't Olive know that her father donated his organs?
It came as a surprise to her that she had someone in front of her who’d received one of her Dad’s organs.





Wednesday, April 12, 2017

Enforcer (Seattle Sharks #2) by Samantha Whiskey



Goodreads Review



As the Seattle Sharks number one Enforcer, nothing means more to me than hockey. I live and breathe the game.
But when my short-temper gets me into one too many late night brawls, Coach threatens to bench me if I don’t clean up my act. It’ll take more than me changing my nightlife—the media needs this bad boy to go good.
Paige Turner—the gorgeous, off-limits best friend of my bro’s fiancée—has the solution.
About to take over as acting CEO of her family’s multi-billion-dollar corporation, she’ll have to sign a morality clause basically kissing any wild-life she wanted goodbye. Her proposition?
 I, Rory Jackson—the panty dropper and bed hopper of the Sharks—give her an exclusive relationship for three entire months. Her wholesome image will only brighten my dark one in the press’ eyes, and I can help her check off some wicked naughty tasks on her very specific dirty-girl bucket list.
If I screw up and get arrested again, she’ll lose everything she’s worked her entire life for, but what terrifies me most? At the end of the three months, I won’t want to let her go, and with that morality clause—she can't keep me.


5 the Corporate Princess & the Bad Boy Stars.
Paige Turner (God how I love that name) is soon to take over as President of Cranbaby. She is then to lead a life that is wholesome and that will never taint her perfect image. She has three months to lead the life that she wants before she signs a morality clause.
Paige suggests a contract to her sex bucket list #7.
Rory Jackson Enforcer for the Seattle Sharks has a public image problem. Slight anger management issues lead him to one to many bar brawls and a strike 17. He needs to clean his act up or else. Rory beneath his I don’t give shit exterior is a good guy and he deserves happiness. He’s worth more and he needs to see it.
The expectations that her father puts on her are unbelievable and I am surprised she lasted as long as he did. Her father is a real piece of work. Paige is prepared to walk away from it all for Rory. What bothered me is that Rory played the martyr I hate it when that happens one of my pet peeves but here it wasn’t as irritating as it usually is. IMO at least.
I loved this book although the trope usually isn’t for me it worked this time. We get to see Gage and Bailey from book 1 and secondary characters who are hopefully going to get their own books. There is some angst to the book where I was hoping that the deets for the contract wouldn’t get out but it was a former puck bunny who decided to stick her oar in.
Ms. Whiskey was a surprise read for me in 2016 with her book Grinder. So, when offered the chance at an ARC who would say no? Certainly, not Moi.
My verdict:
A slap happy book with a lot of funny, sweet, sexy and downright filthy moments. That has you wanting more. I read Enforcer in one sitting and would reread it for sure. Boisterous with a touch of vulnerability as well as being adorable.





Saturday, April 8, 2017

Drakon's Prey (Blood of the Drakon #2) by NJ Walters



Goodreads Review

  
Valeriya Azarov turned her back on the family business to write and illustrate children’s books. But with a sister who leads the Knights of the Dragon, it’s impossible to get away from the secret society whose mission is to destroy and enslave dragons. When information falls into her hands along with the opportunity to save at least one of the ancient creatures, she can’t turn away any longer.

When a woman moves into the cabin above Tarrant Cooper’s secret underground lair, he’s both suspicious and intrigued. He hasn’t lasted four thousand years being careless, so when he suspects her of being a part of the Knights, the plan is to kidnap her and find out how much the organization knows about him and his brothers.

He’s drawn to Valeriya, but trusting her could get him killed. Even if she’s a pawn in the war between drakons and Knights, giving her his heart would mean forever.



I just love me some dragons.

Another great additional to this wonderful series. I’m so happy I found this series. I’ve read two other books by this author and she knows how to write paranormal romance. With Ms. Walters you get sucked into the story even if you don’t want to but believe me you will. There is a great blend of paranormal with suspense and the world that has been built and the Drakons.

Drakons are half dragon and human sired by male dragons with human mothers. They are hunted down for their blood by the Knights of the Dragon and have shied away from humans to protect themselves they prefer solitude anyway. But the time has come to go on the defence and not the offense.  

I loved Tarrant and Valeriya together. They have chemistry and banter with delectable steamy scenes thrown in. Although they get off to a rocky start as Valeriya’s family business is to hunt Drakons down for a living to get their blood to heal sickness and prolong life. They overcome it all and have their happily for now.

Whereas we got a peek at the end of the epilogue in the book who would be next we unfortunately aren’t so lucky here. I hope it is Ezra the water dragon. The most anti-social bunch of the brothers. I can’t wait to continue with this engaging, fabulous and humorous series.